I went to the Pet Expo – Part 2

Hey ya’ll! Yesterday I gave you an overview of the Expo. Click Here To EnterIt was fun and I had a good time! Today I want to tell you about Jessie James, the BirdWhisperer.

Jessie James with a Cockatoo.

Jessie James with a Cockatoo.

 

 

 

 

He talked all about parrots – mainly trying to talk humans out of getting one since they are a very long time commitment. 101_1802 (Parrots can live for 80 years!) He said to never let a bird on your shoulder because if they get scared or fall or something they might take your ear or nose or cheek with them when they fall or fly away.

These 2 cockatoos have no feathers on their bodies.

These 2 cockatoos have no feathers on their bodies.

 

He also talked about birds who pluck their own feathers because they’re stressed out (I guess it’s kind of like my fellow canines when we constantly lick our paws because we’re upset).

These two cockatoos are rescues and are being cared for by the Peninsula Caged Bird Society

These two cockatoos are rescues and are being cared for by the Peninsula Caged Bird Society

He also told how you can tell if the bird was wild caught (now outlawed) versus hand-raised (a difference in rings on their legs).

I think he said this one was wild-caught - but I can't remember.

I think he said this one was wild-caught – but I can’t remember.

I enjoyed his talk a lot but we had to leave early to catch the Cat Agility.

This one is very pretty - too bad I can't remember what breed he is.

This one is very pretty – too bad I can’t remember what breed he is.

Here are some more photos of birds for you to enjoy.

A misbehaving cockatoo!

A misbehaving cockatoo!

Beautiful green-winged macaw.

Beautiful green-winged macaw.

This one is a hybrid - a harlequin - a cross between  a blue & gold and a green-winged macaw.

This one is a hybrid – a harlequin – a cross between a blue & gold and a green-winged macaw.

Very pretty!

Very pretty!

Here I am watching the bird-man!

Here I am watching the bird-man!

See you next time with photos from some funny dogs!  Barkingly yours, LadyBird

See you next time with photos from some funny dogs! Barkingly yours, LadyBird

click on image for link

 

2 thoughts on “I went to the Pet Expo – Part 2

We love comments! Please leave one!!

